The Liberal Awards, presented by the European Liberal Forum, celebrate the champions of liberal values and ideas and promote their recognition and impact on the European level.

Every year, ELF member organisations, political parties, and foundations are invited to nominate candidates in different categories. A jury composed of ELF, the ALDE Party, and LYMEC representatives will award individuals from national and European politics.

In 2024, liberal organisations are invited to nominate candidates in two categories: ‘Liberal of the Year’ and ‘Rising Star’.

Previous winners


Rising StarLiberal of the YearLifetime Achievement
Luis Cano
Founder of the Rainbow Platform
Kaja Kallas
Prime Minister of Estonia
MEP Guy Verhofstadt
Former Prime Minister of Belgium


Rising Star Political DisruptorValues Champion
Pavle GrbovićMarta LempartHans van Baalen
Pavle Grbović
Serbian MP, President of the
Movement of Free Citizens
Marta Lempart
Co-founder, All-Poland
Women’s Strike
Hans van Baalen
Late president of the ALDE party
Outstanding Changemaker Outstanding Changemaker
Kira RudikOlga Stefanishina
Kira Rudik
President of the Golos (Voice)
Party in Ukraine, ALDE party VP
Olha Stefanishyna
Deputy Prime Minister for European &
Euro-Atlantic Integration of Ukraine 


Rising Star Political DisruptorBest Speech
Alena TrauschelJohan NorbergKatalin Cseh
Alena Trauschel
MP of Baden-Wuerttemberg
state parliament
Johan Norberg
Historian, author, documentary
Katalin Cseh
Member of the European

whois: Andy White Freelance WordPress Developer London